Top Tens: Diego Maradona quotes

by Tom Stewart

Diego Maradona is one of FlairWeekly’s favourite people. The man is clearly nuts and doesn’t shy away from showing the world exactly how nuts he is. As a player he was a genius….and a flawed one….as a coach he is an erratic, charismatic maniac. As a man he is a former coke addict, very vocal about his politics, and he has fathered several illegitimate children. Oh- and he’s never afraid to voice his mind about Pele. Or anything for that matter.

Here are our top 10 quotes from the great man (believe me it was hard to narrow it down)

10. Diego on: George Bush and the USA

“I think Bush is a murderer. I’m going to head the march against him stepping foot on Argentine soil.”

“I hate everything that comes from the United States. I hate it with all my strength.”

9. Diego on: Smashing a photographers car

“I did it with the hand of reason.”

8. Diego on: Retirement

“I worked all my life for this. Those who say I dont deserve anything, that it all came easy, can kiss my arse.”

7. Diego on: Michel Platini and the entire French nation

“We all know what the French are like and Platini as a Frenchman thinks he knows it all.”

6. Diego on: Politics

“I believe in [Venezuelan President Hugo] Chávez, I am Chavista. Everything Fidel [Castro] does, everything Chávez does, for me is the best.”

5. Diego on: Argentina’s performance in the 1998 World Cup

“The players have all got square feet. They are like Robocops, they have more need of lubricant than massage. I don’t believe the tournament could be worse.”

4. Diego on: Watching former club Boca Juniors

“I feel like my chest burns. It’s like sleeping with Julia Roberts.”

3. Diego on: Pele

“He should return to the museum.”

2. Diego on: His numerous children and fatherhood in general

“My legitimate kids are Dalma and Giannina. The rest are a product of my money and mistakes.”

1. Diego on: His doubters

“To those who did not believe: now suck my d**k – I’m sorry ladies for my words – and keep on sucking it. I am either white or black. I will never be grey in my life. You treated me as you did. Now keep on sucking d**ks. I am grateful to my players and to the Argentinian people. I thank no one but them. The rest, keep on sucking d**ks.”

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

